24 Nov 2010

Bonobo freebies!

Few facts for starters:
- Bonobo is a brilliant artist
- He's signed to Ninja Tune
- Ninja Tune was celebrating 20th anniversary this year

What can be a result of all that components? I don't know what you were thinking but you're probably wrong :)
Ninja Tune decided to celebrate their feast by giving away 20 completely FREE music packs ( 20 years, 20 packs, one per week) containing never released before tracks coming from label's biggest stars, e.g. Amon Tobin, Roots Manuva, The Cinematic Orchestra, Kid Koala, Mr Scruff, The Bug, King Geedorah, Zomby, Jaga Jazzist, Bonobo, Toddla T, Daedelus, Dorian Concept, Eskmo, Floating Points, Jammer, Two Fingers, Wagon Christ, The Heavy, cLOUDDEAD and even more wicked remixes. All details available on Ninja Tune XX official website.

This is not news, all the celebrations are long behind us, but still, I like Bonobo's music too much not to write about any free tracks coming from him. Among all five tracks, "Ghost Ship" and Aaron Jerome's remix of "Walk In The Sky" are the ones drawing most attention. First one is a downtempo jazzy masterpiece, with looped piano taps accompanied by other instruments and great glitchy bassline, it sounds like one great jazz session. Can't get enough of it, but that's the thing with Bonobo's music. "Walk In The Sky" follows this pattern, although it's a remix, the components are about the same, enriched with Eartha Kitt's vocals.

Full tracklist for Bonobo's pack:
01. Ghost Ship
02. Eye's Down (Breach Remix)
03. Ketto Revisited ft Bonobo
04. Recurring (Dextro Remix)
05. Walk In The Sky (Aaron Jerome Glitch Mix)

Right now download on the official site is disable, but I have come up with alternative link and a preview for two previously mentioned tracks:

...and here is short clip from Ninja Tune XX party in London: